So, I got a notice in my inbox today that someone sent me a virtual greeting card. Nothing unusual about that. Get one or two of those a month. So I click on the link without thinking about it. It leads to a page that says I need the latest version of Flash to view my card, and helpfully provides a link to the flash installer.
I got suspicious when I noticed that the link led to a file on that server, rather than to the Macromedia site. I further got suspicious when I noticed that the greeting card site (greeting-cards.com) was not actually where I was sent (greeting-ecards.ws/usa/ecard_recipient_ err.htm).
So I loaded the file into the Virus Vault and checked. Hey, what do you know, a Trojan Horse.
I hope everyone on my flist learns from my lesson.
I got suspicious when I noticed that the link led to a file on that server, rather than to the Macromedia site. I further got suspicious when I noticed that the greeting card site (greeting-cards.com) was not actually where I was sent (greeting-ecards.ws/usa/ecard_recipient_
So I loaded the file into the Virus Vault and checked. Hey, what do you know, a Trojan Horse.
I hope everyone on my flist learns from my lesson.
- Mood:
annoyed - Music:Kermit The Frog & Frog Chorus - Happy Feet
